New Addition to the Robot Circus

Well, there’s a new robot in town, it’s name is Mouse. I named it mouse because of the fact that when I was first putting it together, the big wheels and the base reminded me of a weird mouse with the wires sticking straight out the back of the base. I made it over the last few days using my 3d printer and some extra servos/arduino/printboard. It tends to go in large circles because of the fact that I dont know what the centers are on the servos for the arduino programming. Ive always used them with PIC chips, which I figured for this little bot, I’d change it up a little to learn something new. Other than the large circles issue, it runs around the camper here and if something gets in its way, the ultrasonic sensor on top picks it up and tells the robot to turn around and run away.

Here’s some pics of it sitting on my resistor cabnet waiting for me to press the go button:

Image

Image

Its based off of the miniskybot 2.0, which is a basic printbot. The robot is an educational robot designed by a guy over in spain, but uploaded the robot as open source for anyone to use and modify as they wanted.

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:63165

With a 9v backpack holder hot glued to the back of the robot, here’s the 9v backpack

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:26599

I also used a custom printshield which seperates the 9v from running into the 6v servos, and used the 6 AAA batteries that are designed into the base of the robot to power the servos with, then 9v battery for the arduino and sensors. I did it like this so motors didnt get too much power, and it helps prevent power dips when its running which would normally cause the robot to reset itself.

If anyone wants the pcb layout for the printshield, I can upload the files, and/or the mirrored pdf file to use for toner transfer method.

Will be bringing him to a certain gyro shack and letting him loose as soon as I can get over there 😛

Leave a Reply

